Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Screen and Printer

Screen and Printer 3 years 4 months ago #4577

Good afternoon all! This is my very first post. I am a newer photographer and am putting my physical portfolio together. I have adjusted my screen but when I print the image out it still seems darker than I'd ideally want. Would a Colour Munki or Spyder screen calibration rectify this? Thanks!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Screen and Printer 3 years 4 months ago #4580

• Luke
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 11
When you say you adjusted your screen, how did you do this? Also is it a home printer or a professional lab that is producing the prints?

I found a big difference after I bought my spyder, not so much in terms of the colours but more in the brightness levels.
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

Screen and Printer 3 years 4 months ago #4584

• Erik Ballew
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 30
It will to a point, however your prints are always going to be darker. Your monitor is a back lit display and your print is reflective light.

They also both use different colors to make the image.

Your monitor uses Red, Green and Blue. White being all three colors of light. Black being the absence of light.

Your printer uses Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Black. White being the absence of ink. Black being a dark black ink, or a mixture of all four.

While they can come close to reproducing each other, it's always going to be a little different.

Screen and Printer 3 years 4 months ago #4589