Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: new LR4 import becasue can't match question marks.

new LR4 import becasue can't match question marks. 3 years 3 months ago #4716

Fed up with trying to find links to question mark photos, I decided to copy all the photographs to another drive. I am new to L4 so I have not done a great deal of work yet. I have new external drives and I am ready to label one working, another backup, and a final "Safety".

Presently I have 20k photo files. They reside on the new "working" drive. They are in folders by date as well as by topic. Now I want to import in a catalog. I need advice about whether I should import them with any dates. I think I should import them with the dates they have by not letting L4 name them...whad you think?

When I get this straightened out, I will export all the photos through L4 to the "Backup" and then again tot he "safety" drive.

Any advice would be appreciated. This problem arose because of my traveling with a Passport drive that started to act up but it was also aggravated by a tempermental usb port!
Last Edit: 3 years 3 months ago by Jim Sterne. Reason: to make subjct line clearer
The administrator has disabled public write access.

new LR4 import becasue can't match question marks. 3 years 3 months ago #4717

• Gabe
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 6
Im not sure what your question is. Can you give us more info as to what you are trying to accomplish? Im not sure if your asking about the question marks or backing up your files or both.
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

new LR4 import becasue can't match question marks. 3 years 3 months ago #4724

I have 20k photos on a bad drive. 5k of them have question marks in LR because somehow their LR extension was stripped off. This makes it impossible to relink.