Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Keep Shooting! Photography Assignments (04 Feb 2013)

Be sure to check out the new Keep Shooting! Photography Assignments, every two weeks there is a new one!

cazillo.com/c/forum/keep-shooting-photography-assignments.html

Comments on portraiture?

More
4 years 2 months ago #2865 by Robert
Hi,
I've been watching Greg's videos and have gained a lot of valuable tips. His "50mm is not a portrait lens" really rocked my thought process.

I decided to try some "office" portraits using just one speedlight, one reflector and my 135mmf/2 lens.

I just set up the stuff in my office (clamshell fashion) tested it out via meter, and then when anyone came in my office, I zapped them a few times!

I'm not very good at being critical; it's sort of like having kids...hard to be objective.

Can Greg comment and pick these apart a bit so I can improve?

And

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 2 months ago #2866 by Mistery
The only thing I have at the moment is if you have a second flash set it up behind them to use it as a hair light.

D800 w/grip, D700 w/grip,V1,14-24mm F/2.8, 24-70mm F/2.8, 70-200mm F/2.8, 200-400mm F/4, 105mm,F/2.8,35mm F/1.4,35mm F/1.8, 85mm F/1.4,1.7x Tele

Pickup your Photography Tshirt today
More
4 years 2 months ago #2869 by Robert

Keith Homan wrote: The only thing I have at the moment is if you have a second flash set it up behind them to use it as a hair light.

You're right...I didn't bring it but I'll keep that in mind...that's true, that would have improved these greatly.

More
4 years 2 months ago - 4 years 2 months ago #2870 by Erik Ballew
Really depends on what kind of portraiture you are going for, what you have set up here is great for Office/Corporate work. Quick easy and portable, the same I use, for this type of work.