Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Comments on portraiture?

Comments on portraiture? 3 years 10 months ago #2865

• Robert
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi,
I've been watching Greg's videos and have gained a lot of valuable tips. His "50mm is not a portrait lens" really rocked my thought process.

I decided to try some "office" portraits using just one speedlight, one reflector and my 135mmf/2 lens.

I just set up the stuff in my office (clamshell fashion) tested it out via meter, and then when anyone came in my office, I zapped them a few times!

I'm not very good at being critical; it's sort of like having kids...hard to be objective.

Can Greg comment and pick these apart a bit so I can improve?

And

The administrator has disabled public write access.

Comments on portraiture? 3 years 10 months ago #2866

• Mistery
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 16
The only thing I have at the moment is if you have a second flash set it up behind them to use it as a hair light.
D800 w/grip, D700 w/grip,V1,14-24mm F/2.8, 24-70mm F/2.8, 70-200mm F/2.8, 200-400mm F/4, 105mm,F/2.8,35mm F/1.4,35mm F/1.8, 85mm F/1.4,1.7x Tele
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

Comments on portraiture? 3 years 10 months ago #2869

• Robert
  • Fresh Boarder
Keith Homan wrote:
The only thing I have at the moment is if you have a second flash set it up behind them to use it as a hair light.

You're right...I didn't bring it but I'll keep that in mind...that's true, that would have improved these greatly.

Comments on portraiture? 3 years 10 months ago #2870

• Erik Ballew
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 30
Really depends on what kind of portraiture you are going for, what you have set up here is great for Office/Corporate work. Quick easy and portable, the same I use, for this type of work.