Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Critique my Portrait

Critique my Portrait 3 years 8 months ago #3401

Was just looking for critiques on this portrait.

Nikon D90
VR 18-105mm F/305-5.6G
L (4288x2848) - 10.4 MB
70mm - ISO 500
1/500s - F/5.3
0EV - Auto, 0, 0

Shot this in the summer of 2012 when I still did not really understand the exposure circle. Post processed in Photoshop Elements after I learned more about exposures and photography.

Would probably have turned out better if I had known more at the time.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Critique my Portrait 3 years 8 months ago #3405

• dave seymour
  • Senior Boarder
  • canon all the way..
  • Thank you received: 2
hi, well im no expert but heres my thoughts.
nice shot, im guessing if you had turned the other way though the light would be on your face and not the back of your head.
also i would of liked the back ground a little more out of focus as i keep looking at the berrys near your chin :)
7D. 24-105L.
50mm f1.8
100-400 f4.5.6 IS
430exii.
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

Critique my Portrait 3 years 8 months ago #3410

• beast
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3
I like how you used the sun as a hair light. It really helps separate her from the background. But I'm not a fan of the house on the right side of the frame. I would either recompose to remove it or get it more out of focus. Thanks for sharing!

Critique my Portrait 3 years 8 months ago #3412

Thanks much for the feedback, guys! Just for clarification, I'm Nate and this is my wife. This is not me. LOL