Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Camera choice

Camera choice 4 years 4 months ago #1820

• Andrew
  • Fresh Boarder
Hello all,

My issues is this...I am just getting into photography and wanting to upgrade from my point and shoot to a dslr. I have been taking sports photos more then anything and have been asked by many parents to start taking some of their kids sporting events. I am a stay at home dad that works part time so my budgets not very big atm.

I have been looking at used cameras on Craigslist but am not sure what I should be looking for.Canon 40D and 60D or even the T3I...T3I is by far the cheapest body and figured would spend more on better lenses then upgrade. Ive also been looking at Nikons though I have no real experiance with them but then again being my first DSLR I dont think it matters.....Any suggestions? Tips?
Thanks much
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Camera choice 4 years 4 months ago #1823

If you've been around for a while you might have heard me mention Kathy. She is in exactly the same situation as you but she is about 2 years ahead.

You said budget is tight but you really should look at a Nikon D7000 or higher body as it will be your minimum for decent focus and shooting speed for sports.
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

Re: Camera choice 4 years 4 months ago #1830

• Conor Casey
  • Thank you received: 55
Hi Andrew,

Welcome to the forum. :)

If you are going to be shooting sports, you will need two things: a camera with a good auto-focus system and a camera with fast continuous shooting. Unfortunately, these features are usually seen on more expensive models, not entry-level. They are generally around €1,100 or above. This is the price for a body only Nikon D7000, which would be perfect for you.