Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Suggestions for new strobes?

Suggestions for new strobes? 4 years 8 months ago #1259

Hey everyone, I have always leaned towards natural light photography with the help of Speedlites when needed. However, I was recently asked to do a major project that would involve me setting up a mini studio for a bunch of indoor portrait work. I would like to bump up my equipment with the purchase of some strobes...however...I am new to the strobe game (trusted brands, what wattage I should be looking at, etc.).

I was looking at the Bowens 400w kits...but, like I said, I'm not sure what wattage I should be looking for, what brands are trusted, etc. My goal is to keep my purchase under $1000 whether it be 1 really nice strobe or 2 good quality strobes in a kit. Any ideas, experience, suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

p.s. the work will focus on full body portraits and 3/4 shots...if that helps.
Last Edit: 4 years 8 months ago by Mike Greenley. Reason: adding additional info
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Suggestions for new strobes? 4 years 8 months ago #1262

• Pat Belisle
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
I got Flashpoint II 620M, 2 300w lamps for 499$...entry level but amazing kit, well built and user friendly... I think that monolight is the best for indoor but those are ''battery ready''...a must I think...
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

Re: Suggestions for new strobes? 4 years 8 months ago #1264

• Christian Udarbe
  • Gold Boarder
  • Just go out and shoot
  • Thank you received: 12
I actually like this thread :cheer: I, too, am looking into some strobes for somewhat similar projects.