Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Trying new ideas

Trying new ideas 1 year 8 months ago #6426

• jerry
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 31
Lets remember, I'm not a professional photographer, not even close. My wife sells jewelry and sometimes needs photos taken. I have been seeing some very nice jewelry shots with reflections so I thought I woulds give it a shot as I do like the idea. It was sunny out, so I decided to take the jewelry outside and place them on my iPad screen and hoping to get a some sparkle. This is very cheap jewelry and want to make it look better than that.

I do have a "rednecky" table top studio made out of cardboard with foam board on all sides, which i use for necklaces. But for some reason for rings and bracelets, i like the reflection look.
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Luke

Trying new ideas 1 year 8 months ago #6427

• Luke
  • Senior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 11
I like the reflection and I think the sparkle on the works really well. The only thing I don't like it the sort of double reflection on top of each other that you are getting with the ring. I played around with something similar a while back where I used a sheet of back acrylic to make the reflection, it was only about seven quid for an A3 sheet at the local art store. I keep meaning to go back and try it with different colours but I never seem to get around to it.

The biggest problem I had was keeping the dust off the acrylic, the thing is like a giant dust magnet.
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: jerry
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today

Trying new ideas 1 year 8 months ago #6428

• jerry
  • Gold Boarder
Ya, i don't understand why I'm getting that "double" reflection, can anyone explain that?