Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Equipment for Beginner

Equipment for Beginner 4 years 3 months ago #1920

• Joe
  • Fresh Boarder
I have no photograph experience besides shooting with a point and shot camera. And i am looking to get a DSLR to take better everyday life pictures for my wife and a young child. I hope my skill will be better as the kid growing up. I don't have a big budget and i don't think i will make a living of being a photographer. So I can't justify to buy pro equipment. I think i am getting a refurb D5100 body. And my question is what lens should i get first? a nikkor 50mm 1.8g? or a sigma 70-200 2.8? And what else do i need besides lens? tripod? remote? flash? camera bag? strap? Thanks.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Equipment for Beginner 4 years 3 months ago #1921

• Roy van Ommen
  • Creative minds for all!
  • Thank you received: 86
Hi there Joe!,

Welcome to the #Cazillions community :)

Very good you want to join in to photography with a DSLR. But you are asking a big question.

Your suggested equipment is already for people with deep pockets. Like the 70-200 2.8, thats a $ 1000 or more lens. Or the 50mm 1.8g which is a $ 170 lens.

If you want to take normal life images of your wife and kid, i think the 70-200 equipment is way above your use. I think you should try a Nikon D5100 + 18-105 VR. Which gives you some space in vocal length.

If you want to go professional, or going to photography sports, or professional outside photoshoots, then you should think about a 70-200 f/2.8 or so.. Only images of wife and kid, no offense, but the Nikon D5100 with a 18-105 lens will give you enough space.

And if you have grown out of it, you can allways get better lenses.

Greetings,
Roy
Pickup your Photography Tshirt today