Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: What to buy - have to take fast a decision !!!!!!

What to buy - have to take fast a decision !!!!!! 4 years 3 months ago #1944

• davor
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi,

My question: I´m shooting a wedding for my sister. I have Nikon D300 and a kit lens 16-85mm 3,5-5,6. I´m going to buy a SB910.

I want to keep working on my Photography. I have already read 1000 of books about anything possible in photography. I´m even studying the light for the moment (for my own - through some good books). I feel like I have a lot of knowledge of taking good pictures but "bad"/not well equipment (I know that you can take even good with "bad" equipment, but as I sad not well equipment).

I´m considering buying a full frame Nikon in future - maybe in 2 or 1 year. But for the moment I feel like I have too first buy good lenses, even if I have a Nikon D300.

Should I buy a Nikon 70-200 VRII (I know I have 1.5 crop on D300) and use it together with my 16-85 for the wedding???? Or better 24-70 mm 2.8? Or do you suggest something else? I don´t want to buy 17-55mm because sometime in future (coming 3 years)I want to own "the holy trinity" of lenses.

Thanks for your time and answers!

Greetings from Munich-Germany!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: What to buy - have to take fast a decision !!!!!! 4 years 3 months ago #1945

• Conor Casey
  • Thank you received: 55
Herzlich Willkommen! :cheer:

Considering your current equipment and the fact you will be shooting a wedding, I'd go with the Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8. I think it would be most useful right now for you. You can use it to shoot the wedding and if you do decide to upgrade to full frame, it is a very useful full frame lens.