Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Variable vs constant aperture lens

Variable vs constant aperture lens 4 years 4 months ago #1712

• Amitabh Chanda
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi Greg,

Was not sure if other post went through.

Coming to the subject, I was under impression that in a constant aperture lens like Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8 we cannot change the aperture, until recently when I read this lens can have multiple f-stops. Considering the relationship between f-stop and aperture does it means this lens can have multiple aperture values? If it's true then what's different in this from a 18-55 variable aperture lens.

I'm an amateur and guess my question seems naive & stupid, but would really greatful if you could answer.

Thanks,
Amitabh
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Variable vs constant aperture lens 4 years 4 months ago #1713

• Roy van Ommen
  • Creative minds for all!
  • Thank you received: 86
Hi there Amitabh,

Well, there are no stupid or dumb questions. This is a questions which runs through your mind so very good you've asked it.

The thing with a variable aperture lens is, that if you zoom out, like with the 18-55 F3.5 - F5.6, is that you start @ 18 mm with F3.5. But when you zoom out to F5.6, you will have an aperture of F5.6.

With a constant aperture lens, you can use the whole range with the same aperture which is great when you are using the zoom mode on your lens. Or even if you want to make a nice bokeh.

But the most important thing is, if you zoom out with a variable aperture lens. (Lets say, a 18-200 F3.5 - F6.3) you will lose almost 3 stops of light, which you have to compensate with your ISO or your shutter speed. And sometimes you will need a faster shutter speed so you have to bump up automaticly your ISO.