Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: What should I be shooting with my 50mm lens?

What should I be shooting with my 50mm lens? 3 years 8 months ago #3117

Hey Greg firstly I just wanted to say what an awesome job you do with your site and helping us all with your knowledge and advice.

This is my first post so I hope I am following the protocol!!

I managed to get my first DSLR around 4 months ago now and based on my budget I purchased a Nikon D7000 and a 50mm f1.8G prime lens. I am just starting out in photography other than years with a basic point and shoot but I am not sure if I have restricted what I can shoot getting this first lens. I did do a fair bit of research prior to purchase and based on my budget and advice got the 50mm prime as a good starting point to learn the basics. Could you give me some advice as to the kind of things I should and shouldn't be shooting with it. I know you have highlighted it is not a portrait lens but as it is all I have and all I can afford for now, your advice would be appreciated.

Kind regards Gary (Cambridge, England) :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

What should I be shooting with my 50mm lens? 3 years 8 months ago #3120

• Erik Ballew
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 30
Shoot anything and everything with what you have. There are some guidelines out there, to help you along. But none are rules carved in stone. Don't let these stop you from shooting and learning.

Sure 50mm can distort a head shot, and sure there might be better lenses for the job. But it's not impossible to get a good head shot with this lens. The 50mm is great for 1/2 to full body shots, and a general walk around lens.

Learning and knowing your gear, you'll know what you can and can not use to your advantage.