Get Your FREE copy of Top 10 Tips for All Beginning Photographers ...plus Lightroom Develop Presets & Wedding Photography Checklist!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Exposure in Manual mode

Exposure in Manual mode 3 years 7 months ago #3953

Hi all!

I am new to the cazzilo forums, in fact I am new to dslr photography in general. I have been doing extensive studying to try and get up to speed focusing a lot of effort into getting exposure right. I understand the exposure triangle and how each element relates to the others. But a burning question that I cannot seem to find an answer to is where to start when shooting manual. I want to become more proficient with shooting manual. I have read some about the sunny 16 rule where settings are f/16 at a shutter speed of 1/100 and ISO of 100, but what about if it cloudy or indoors or in heavy shade? Is there any rules or rules of thumb that give me a good starting point for the setting or is it trial and error. I would appreciate any advice relating to this issue or any other advice for beginners. I am shooting with a Nikon D7000.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Exposure in Manual mode 3 years 7 months ago #3959

• Bill
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 25
well, I tell how I process things not sure if it's technically correct but it works for me.

I try to set the camera according to what I want the finished image to look like. Whether that indoors outdoors or? That being said if I want to capture and image with a blurred background(bokeh) I will set large aperture and then adjust the ISO and Shutter speed to what will work for the situation. If I'm hand holding I need to keep the shutter speed up so I don't get camera shake so I might need to raise the ISO. If I'm on a tripod I might try to drop the ISO so there is less noise and Shutter speed won't matter. If I shooting a landscape I'll go with a smaller aperture and adjust the other setting to something I can work with.